csa week two

favas and carrots and cukes -- oh my!

favas and carrots and cukes -- oh my!

After week one, I was feeling pretty confident that I can use up a whole share in a week. As I should have expected, then, week two kicked my ass. Here’s the tally:

  • lettuce
  • red kale
  • carrots
  • new potatoes
  • fennel
  • turnips
  • walla walla onion
  • cucumbers
  • strawberries

At first glance, this didn’t seem too bad and I started out strong. I stirfried the shelled favas with green garlic and tossed them with lemon and pasta. The shelling was a bit time consuming, but it gave me an excuse to watch some old Drew Carey Show reruns. (Since the digital switch, the CW is my only tv channel.) I had a few green salads with cucumber, carrot, turnip, and fennel.

All of a sudden, though, it was Thursday night. A quick survey of my fridge revealed that I still had three turnips, half a bunch of kale, an onion, two potatoes from week one plus seven more from this week’s box, a cucumber, and half a bunch of carrots. I sauted the kale and tossed it with the remaining week one potatoes, roasted. Let’s call that Thursday’s dinner. I mixed the rest of the kale with pecans and pasta for the next day’s lunch.

berrylicious all on their own

berrylicious all on their own

Just when I was wondering what to do with the turnips, I found Kat’s recipe for a simple turnip slaw. The slaw was pretty good. I have to admit, though, that I’m not a big fan of turnips. I don’t dislike them, but I’m not going to be seeking them out either.

Due to my laziness, I didn’t get very creative with this week’s produce and I have a lot left over. Carryover into next week includes:

  • one cucumber
  • several carrots
  • seven new potatoes
  • one walla walla onion

It’s time to get serious, I guess.

Leave a Reply

