csa week three: drowning in a sea of greens

look at all that green

look at all that green

Boy, am I glad I broke down and bought a salad spinner. The week three challenge:

  • new potatoes
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • spinach
  • walla walla onion
  • scallions
  • basil
  • mizuna
  • green leaf lettuce
  • red oakleaf lettuce
  • strawberries
  • tomato — first of the season!

I’m trying not to repeat last week’s mistakes, so I’ve been thinking about how to make good use of this week’s box. Clearly, I will be eating a lot of green salad with various toss-ins. The one I’m most excited about involves goat cheese, strawberries, and either pecans or hazelnuts. The salad theme will continue with potato salad and cucumbers in vinegar. I’ll probably cook up the mizuna with ginger and garlic and a carrot cake seems like the best way to deal with my growing carrot supply.

There are so many possibilities…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    Love the blog!! Good luck and I want some carrot cake.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

