csa week one: the haul

ooohhh...the possibilities

ooohhh...the possibilities

I got a bit of a late start last Saturday, due to a morning sinus headache (ugh). So, the market was really crowded when I finally went to pick up my CSA share. I know it’s silly but I was a little nervous, just because I wasn’t sure how the pick-up worked. Where would the bins be? Am I supposed to check in with one of the farm employees? What if I screw something up? I have this thing about never wanting to seem like I don’t know what I’m doing.

There was no need to worry, of course. After a preliminary lap (or two) around the market, I admitted defeat and asked for help. The kind woman (whose name I didn’t catch – oops – maybe next time) showed me where the bins are kept and where to put mine once I’ve emptied it. She explained the sign-in sheet and where to look for announcements. Once she’d gone over the whole process and made sure I’d never feel like a CSA newbie again, she left me to discover the goodies in my bin. Here’s what I found:

  • cucumbers
  • carrots
  • kohlrabi
  • lettuce
  • rhubarb
  • purple viking potatoes
  • green garlic
  • Walla Walla onion

A pretty good haul for the first week. After I got home, I realized that the CSA newsletter had promised me chard and bok choy, but there was none in my bin. I did have two heads of lettuce, though. Maybe someone did a little bartering with my bin before I picked it up? Oh well — lesson learned. From now on, I’ll be more aware of what’s in my bin, compared to what’s on the list.

Leave a Reply

